November 1, 2018 | Lara James
Daylight Saving Time ends on Sunday, November 4, which means you can turn your clocks back one hour at 2 a.m.  Now, what to do with that extra hour?

Did you know...

1.  Daylight saving time was first enacted by the federal government March 19, 1918, during World War 1, as a way to conserve coal.

2.  The correct term is daylight "saving" time.

3.  The US Department of Transportation is in charge of time in the US, including time zones and daylight saving time.

4.  Daylight saving became a federal law in 1966, with the passage of the Uniform Time Act.

5.  Only two states don't observe it - Hawaii and Arizona.

6.  Parts of Indiana didn't observe daylight saving time until 2006, when it became a law statewide.

7.  Twenty-six states want to make daylight saving time year-round.

8.  During the energy crisis of the 1970s, Congress ordered states to go on year-round daylight saving time between January 1974 and April 1975.


You message has been sent!

Send us a Message

You agree to receive automated promotional messages from Lara James regarding real estate information and education.Click here for terms and privacy policy. Message frequency varies. To opt out of receiving messages from me, text STOP to cancel. Reply HELP for help. Message and data rates may apply.